Recent News

13 May 2018
Will Palmer completes maiden GP3 weekend with P13 after brave tyre gamble
Click here to read more
12 May 2018
P18 as Palmer makes GP3 debut
Click here to read more
11 May 2018
Qualifying improvements for Palmer ahead of GP3 race debut
Click here to read more
11 May 2018
Will Palmer makes GP3 race weekend debut with 18th in free practice
Click here to read more
02 May 2018
Will Palmer steps up to GP3 with MP Motorsport
Click here to read more
29 October 2017
Will Palmer secures Eurocup P2 with strong drives in Barcelona
Click here to read more

Will Palmer wins prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award

Will Palmer, the 2015 BRDC Formula 4 champion, was announced as the winner of the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award (MABA) at the end-of-season Autosport Awards ceremony held at Grosvenor House in London last night (Sunday 6 December). The 18-year-old was selected as the winner by a panel of judges consisting of motorsport industry experts, and claims the prize package which includes a cash sum of £100,000 and an invitation to test a McLaren Grand Prix car - an incredible end to an amazing 2015 season.

The MABA was established in 1989 to help progress the careers of outstanding young British racing drivers, with previous winners including David Coulthard, Jenson Button, Anthony Davidson and Dario Franchitti. Will was nominated for the award after becoming the 2015 BRDC Formula 4 Champion, along with five other drivers including Formula Renault 2.0 racers Jack Aitken, Ben Barnicoat and Jake Hughes. Ricky Collard and Toby Sowery, who both competed in MSA Formula this year, completed the line-up.

The six nominees underwent fitness and simulator assessments before facing a rigorous two-day test on the Grand Prix track at Silverstone in Formula 2 single-seater, DTM Mercedes and McLaren 650S GT3 machinery. The sextet then faced interviews with a panel of experts before the judges consisting of BRDC President Derek Warwick, two-time British Touring Car Champion Jason Plato, McLaren's Andrew Kirkaldy and Mark Williams, leading circuit commentator Ian Titchmarsh, Autosport features Editor Scott Mitchell and Motorsport News Editor Kevin Turner selected Will as the winner.

Will, who hails from Southwater in Sussex, enjoyed a stunning 2015 campaign in BRDC Formula 4, winning exactly half the races across the season with 12 victories in addition to three other podium finishes. He wrapped up the title with three races still left in the season and amassed a record points total, finishing 137 points of his closest rival and HHC Motorsport team-mate, Harri Newey.

Will said: "It's absolutely unbelievable. Every year I've seen the six finalists on stage and dreaming of one day taking part, it's an amazing opportunity.

"Now that I'm here as the winner, it's absolutely unbelievable.

"It's absolutely massive for my career."

BRDC President Derek Warwick added: "Will took our breath away. He impressed all of us."


Latest Results

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Spain
Race 2
1.G Alesi16 laps
2.A Hubert+2.077s
3.J Hughes+2.376s
4.J Correa+3.295s
5.D Boccolacci+3.593s
6.N Kari+3.959s
7.C Ilott+4.904s
8.S Laaksonen+5.544s
9.L Pulcini+6.103s
13.W Palmer+12.603s

Latest Eurocup Standings

1.S Fenestraz367.5 points
2.W Palmer298 points
3.R Shwartzman285 points
4.M Defourny255 points
5.G Aubry232 points
6.M Fewtrell164 points
7.D Ticktum134 points
8.Y Ye106.5 points
9.R Verschoor89 points
10.A Peroni72 points