Recent News

13 May 2018
Will Palmer completes maiden GP3 weekend with P13 after brave tyre gamble
Click here to read more
12 May 2018
P18 as Palmer makes GP3 debut
Click here to read more
11 May 2018
Qualifying improvements for Palmer ahead of GP3 race debut
Click here to read more
11 May 2018
Will Palmer makes GP3 race weekend debut with 18th in free practice
Click here to read more
02 May 2018
Will Palmer steps up to GP3 with MP Motorsport
Click here to read more
29 October 2017
Will Palmer secures Eurocup P2 with strong drives in Barcelona
Click here to read more

Will signs off in style as he takes 12th BRDC Formula 4 win of 2015

Will Palmer brought the 2015 Duo BRDC Formula 4 Championship to an end in spectacular fashion as he claimed his 12th win of the year with victory in the 24th and final race of the season. The success means that Will has won exactly half the races in the series this year, a truly remarkable feat, as he ends the season with 592 points, 137 ahead of his nearest rival Harri Newey.

In the first race of the day, and the second of the weekend, the BRDC Rising Star started eighth by virtue of his victory in the opening encounter of the season finale. He held his position off the start but Lanan Racing's Chris Mealin slipped past at Graham Hill Bend to relegate Will to ninth.

He was soon fighting back however and, after a few frustrating laps stuck behind the Manxman, he retook the position and with clean air, chased down Mealin's Lanan Racing team-mate Bartholomew for seventh. He quickly disposed of the rookie and next in his sights was his HHC Motorsport stable mate Sisa Ngebulana. With five laps remaining, Will made his move into Paddock Hill and took sixth, a position he would hold at the finish.

By claiming the fastest lap from the first two races of the weekend, Will started on pole position for the final race of the 2015 season and duly led Newey away as the lights went out to start the race. A clash between Chris Mealin, Omar Ismail and Fernando Urrutia on the opening lap brought out the safety car and neutralised the field.

Will dealt with the restart well and began opening up a gap to Newey in second, with a series of fastest laps helping his cause. At the halfway stage he had extended his advantage to over three seconds and continued completely untroubled to take the chequered flag 5.665s ahead of Newey, with Tom Jackson finishing in third.

The top-three in the race would also prove to be the top trio in the championship standings and they were firstly presented with their race trophies by BRDC member Grahame White, before receiving their championship trophies from Duo BRDC Formula 4 Series Director Jonathan Palmer.

By winning the 2015 Duo BRDC Formula 4 title, Will secured the championship prize package which consists of £35,000 cash, a GP3 test drive with ART Grand Prix and a special Pirelli award of €50,000 if he graduates to the GP3 Series.

The race also marked the last appearance of the Ralph Firman-designed BRDC F4 car which will be replaced from the 2015 Autumn Trophy onwards by the all-new Tatuus-Cosworth car.

Will said: "I'm delighted that we have been able to be so successful this year so I have to say a big thank you to the team for that, because together over the last four years we've worked so well together and come a long way.

"After the start, I was fairly confident I would be able to take the win. I had to manage the safety car restart but after that, I got my head down and managed to pull away."

Duo BRDC Formula 4 Championship - Brands Hatch Indy - Race two top-10

1. Harri Newey, HHC Motorsport, 25 Laps
2. Jack Lang, Lang Sport/Gorse Motors, +8.522s
3. Rodrigo Fonseca, Lanan Racing, +8.885s
4. Jordan Albert, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +9.359s
5. Ciaran Haggerty, Ecurie Ecosse/GBR, +10.700s
6. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +14.386s
7. Sisa Ngebulana, HHC Motorsport, +16.643s
8. Jack Bartholomew, Lanan Racing, +17.276s
9. Chris Mealin, Lanan Racing, +17.437s
10. Fernando Urrutia, Douglas Motorsport, +18.943s

Duo BRDC Formula 4 - Brands Hatch Indy - Race three top-10

1. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, 24 Laps
2. Harri Newey, HHC Motorsport, +5.665s
3. Tom Jackson, Chris Dittmann Racing, +5.971s
4. Rodrigo Fonseca, Lanan Racing, +8.390s
5. Sisa Ngebulana, HHC Motorsport, +16.055s
6. Jack Lang, Lang Sport/Gorse Motors, +16.548s
7. Jordan Albert, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +16.793s
8. Ciaran Haggerty, Ecurie Ecosse/GBR, +17.199s
9. Ameya Vaidyanathan, Hillspeed, +17.802s
10. Jack Bartholomew, Lanan Racing, +17.892s 

Latest Results

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Spain
Race 2
1.G Alesi16 laps
2.A Hubert+2.077s
3.J Hughes+2.376s
4.J Correa+3.295s
5.D Boccolacci+3.593s
6.N Kari+3.959s
7.C Ilott+4.904s
8.S Laaksonen+5.544s
9.L Pulcini+6.103s
13.W Palmer+12.603s

Latest Eurocup Standings

1.S Fenestraz367.5 points
2.W Palmer298 points
3.R Shwartzman285 points
4.M Defourny255 points
5.G Aubry232 points
6.M Fewtrell164 points
7.D Ticktum134 points
8.Y Ye106.5 points
9.R Verschoor89 points
10.A Peroni72 points